New Developments in Mongolia

The first school break began 10 November.  Thus, I think it’s a good time to update y’all on my current status in Mongolia.  There have been a few landmarks in the past couple of weeks.

Around Halloween I realized that I never took the “Three Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed” poem seriously.  Well, now I do.  A few friends and I were messing around jumping on a bed when I decided I would rather go sit down on the couch.  I should have paid more attention to the actual exiting of the bed because as I stepped off I landed right on top of my ankle and heard about the worst crunch imaginable.  The next morning I woke up to find my left ankle swollen to about twice the size of the right one.  I called the doctors and they instructed me to wrap it and wear a boot for a month.  Let me tell you, it’s so much fun walking around Mongolia in the winter with a big ol’ boot.  It felt like I was wearing only one ski boot at all times.  Well, my ankle is about all healed up now…thank goodness.  I only feel just a slight bit of residue pain when I walk down stairs.

Last night I was privileged enough to meet the American family in town.  They had just finished building their new home and invited the 5 of us serving in Ondorkhaan to dinner.  They moved to Mongolia about six years ago from South Carolina.  The couple has 5 children, 3 boys and 2 girls.  The entire family is absolutely delightful.  Their new home is gorgeous and the food was delicious.  I am so happy that I got to meet them!  They are here doing missionary work and building greenhouses.

My cat has been improving its mouse-catching skills.  This was brought to my attention around 0400 this morning because it was darting all about my ger making a terrible raucous (it is in some need of some kitten mittens).  It wasn’t until I heard the death squeak that I realized it was chasing a mouse.  The craziness didn’t end there.  My cat didn’t seem to care that it’s very early in the morning and riding on a high from its triumph proceeded to make more noise and play with the dead mouse throwing it around like confetti.  At that moment, I was both proud and disgusted then went back to sleep before I could have time to realize how cold it was in my ger.

Tomorrow my counterparts will return from Ulaanbaatar after being there for 3 weeks.  It will be so nice to have them back.  I’ve really missed them.  They were there for a conference.  It turns  out that my school will be changing into a Cambridge style school.  Which means over the next few years it will be shifting into having most of its subjects taught in English.  I believe they will be starting with Math and Physics, then maybe adding more from there.  Only a few schools throughout the country were chosen.  So, there are some exciting developments to come.

Please let me know if y’all have any extra questions regarding Mongolia or Peace Corps and I can try to address them as soon as possible.  Hope all is well!

About bellahmongolia

This blog does not represent any views of the US government or the Peace Corps. These are my opinions and stories and mine alone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

