I’M A PEACE CORPS VOLUNTEER (PCV)!!!!

On Friday, August 20, I became one of the newest members of the Peace Corps Volunteer community!  Me and 66 others were sworn in as the 22nd group of volunteers in Mongolia.  That same day, we all left for the capital city of Ulaanbaatar and spent some time there gathering supplies, but mainly enjoying some quality time together before we all went our separate ways.

I was chosen to go to Хэнтий Аймаг, Ѳндѳрхаан Хот (Khentii Aimag, Ondorkhaan) .  I will be working at the 12 Year Secondary School #1.  I am so excited to start.  It has approximately 1800 students and over 100 faculty and staff.  So, it’s one of the larger schools in the area.  Since I’ll be here for a couple of years, I’ll need a place to live.  To fulfill that need, my Host Country Agency (HCA) provided me with my very own Mongolian ger.  It’s a very nice one too, I think.  I’m still scared about what it will be like living in a ger during winter though.  I think a cold front is coming through tonight too because the weather channel’s website is predicting lows in the 30s (degrees F)  for the rest of the week.

I can’t wait to start work tomorrow, but I’m also very nervous because our director told me that I have to give a “speech” to my fellow coworkers on the first day of school.  I am so nervous about it.  Mainly because it has to be in Mongolian.  Hopefully it will go well.

I’ll try to make more frequent updates now that I have Internet in my ger and will maybe have more things to write about once I start work.  Until then….everyone have a great and fun time! ^_^

About bellahmongolia

This blog does not represent any views of the US government or the Peace Corps. These are my opinions and stories and mine alone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

